P. 201 Lesson 14, Game 4, Question 2

    • August 19, 2016 at 2:21 pm #2445

      Hi Mike,

      I don’t know if this question has already been asked, but for Game 4, I was hung up on the 2nd rule.

      It says “J and I as a pair will be teamed either with F or with G.” I diagrammed that as ” JI -> JIF or JIG”. The contrapositve of that statement would be “-JIF and -JIG -> -JI”. Basically, if JIF and JIG aren’t one of the teams, that J and I aren’t a pair.

      This really confused me for the 2nd question, because with all 5 answers, there were multiple teams possible, and so none of the answers would determine all the teams. Looking at the answers, it was explained that J and I would always be a pair together.

      I guess my question is, how should we determine when we’re over-analyzing the rules, such as in the way I did?


    • August 19, 2016 at 2:31 pm #2446

      I figured out my own question, somewhat. I noticed there wasn’t an “if” statement made by the 2nd rule, so in reading that, it wouldn’t truly be a conditional statement, and thus, no contrapositive.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.