Logic Games–CANNOT be true

• July 26, 2016 at 10:08 am #2306
      cecily
      Participant

Hi Mike (and others)!

I’m studying for a retake (first test was 164) and the LSAT Trainer, which I didn’t use before, has been super helpful this time around, and this website is great, so thank you!

I’m struggling with the “CANNOT be true” LG questions at the moment. I’m working through the book and doing drills and stuff, and I had used the PowerScore books the first time around so I feel like I had a decent foundation, but it’s definitely not as strong as I thought it was, because games are taking me longer than I think they should be. What is the best way to go about the “cannot be true” questions? Is that one of those ones where you have to actually test out each answer to see if they work? It’s taking me so long to do questions like that that I feel like I must be doing something wrong.

• July 26, 2016 at 10:15 am #2307
      LSAT Dan
      Participant

It depends on the question. Sometimes, a simple combination of rules will tell you that an answer is right on is type of question. For instance, take a sequencing game where one rule says that A and B are consecutive (in either order), and another rule tells you that C comes after A. Combining those rules, we can see that C comes after B, also, so “C is second” would be a correct answer on a “cannot be true” (typically abbreviated MBF (Must Be False)) question, and you wouldn’t have to test any answers.

Other times, it’s easier to start by looking at past layouts to eliminate wrong answers (anything that could be true in a valid layout is a wrong answer), and testing remaining answer choices.

If you posted a question or two (just the test number and question, not typing it all in) of this type that gave you trouble, I could give you a more specific, helpful response.

-DFO

• August 2, 2016 at 6:46 am #2355
      cecily
      Participant