June 19, 2016 at 10:33 am #2073aim4successcomcast-netParticipant
E to me was also a possible answer choice.
The first diagram with E’s rules led me to conclude the following answer: SVXWTR.
Am I missing something?
June 20, 2016 at 8:56 am #2076Mike KimKeymaster
Hi Emmanuel — Hope the studying is going well —
The Q stem is asking us to find an answer that, if true, determines for us, with certainty, where every element must go —
Answer choice (E) gives us a XWT trio —
Note that the first diagram forces T to be before W, so we can’t use that — (note that your example had both S and W before T, which violates the fourth rule)
There are a couple of ways to fit XWT into the second diagram, namely: XWTSVR and XWTRSV —
And so since the information given to us in answer (E) doesn’t allow us to figure out where every element must be placed, (E) is not the correct answer.
I hope that clears it up and if u you have any follow-up q’s just let me know! – Best, Mike
June 26, 2016 at 8:50 pm #2153aim4successcomcast-netParticipant
Your explanation did help. I assumed that if an answer choice contained a new rule which contradicts the original rules found after the scenario, then the new rule in the answer choice should be considered as the true and correct rule to be used in solving the logic game.
However, from your explanation, I gathered that the original rules found after the scenario are always true and correct, & should be used to eliminate any contradicting rules found in an answer choice while solving a logic game.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.