Expanding the 16-Week Schedule

• April 1, 2016 at 7:56 am #1647
      hsharple
      Participant

Hello! I’m planning on taking the September 24 test, and was going to use the 16-week schedule template to structure my studies.

I’ll be starting pretty soon, but I had a question about how I could best expand on this time frame. I.e., I want to study for more than 16 weeks, so I’m wondering how I can best do that. Should I focus more on taking (and reviewing) practice exams at the end of the 16 weeks? Focus on drilling? Should I repeat the whole process in a shortened version?

Additionally, I’m a high school teacher, so will have two months over the summer to really dedicate to study. I’m wondering what would be the most efficient way to utilize that time as well.

Thanks for the help!

• April 4, 2016 at 12:16 pm #1654
      Mike Kim
      Keymaster

Hi Hunter —

Nice to meet you online, and thanks so much for trusting in the Trainer — excited to see what you think of it (especially because you are a teacher) and, more importantly, I hope it helps you get where you need/want to get —

My advice is to start with the 16 week schedule as a backbone, keep some extra weeks free (and you can even print out extra blank schedule pages to account for these weeks in your calendar or notebook or whatever) — and then, as you get deeper into your prep process, utilize those extra weeks to do additional work in any areas where you see fit — if you feel you need more drilling with a particular LR q type, or you want to go back and reassess/rebuild how you are reading RC passages, you just get the sense you are going to need more practice exams then the schedule suggests and so on, you can make those types of adjustments —

To oversimplify and use a high school-based analogy —