Chapter 12 drill 2 (p.170)

    • May 16, 2017 at 8:40 am #3092
      12021805a
      Participant

      Hi! I’m having trouble understanding the third game in this drill, specifically the part that says “we can make an inference that Frank must have left either the first and last, or second and seventh, message (there wouldn’t be enough spots for F to appear most otherwise)”.

      This refers to the rule “No one leaves more messages than Frank”. But this should include ties too, right? So couldn’t we have an arrangement like…

      _H_ _I_ _H_ _F_ _F_ _F_ _I_ _H_

      Where Frank leaves three, Harry leaves three, and Ingrid leaves two?

    • May 16, 2017 at 9:59 am #3093
      Mike Kim
      Keymaster

      Hey! Welcome to the forum — you are absolutely right that the rule allows for ties — it’s the fact that we can’t have consecutives that makes things the way they are — hth and hope you are finding the book useful — MK

    • May 19, 2017 at 6:16 am #3096
      12021805a
      Participant

      Thanks Mike! And thank you for the book, it’s really helping me stay on track with studying!

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.