Anyone here in their late 30s or 40s?

• April 23, 2016 at 9:38 am #1768
      bbuoy10
      Participant

I was a law student in my early 20s but life intervened, and I withdrew from my program. I’m reapplying for fall 2017 and wanted to know if there were any other older applicants on the forum.

Thanks.

• April 23, 2016 at 11:14 am #1769
      LSAT Dan
      Participant

I’m no longer an applicant; I’m a full-time LSAT tutor and curriculum creator.  But I’m in my 40s, and I went to law school in my mid-30s; started when I was 36, and graduated when I was 38 and practiced law starting at age 39.  The best thing I can tell you about it is, be sure to use your life experiences in those intervening years for your personal statement.  Admissions people like anything that sets a candidate apart.

• April 23, 2016 at 1:40 pm #1770
      bbuoy10
      Participant

Thanks. I’ve been drafting my statement and plan to use a lot of my life experience to explain why I want to go back to school.

• June 1, 2016 at 4:40 pm #1944
        trasi28
        Participant

Mr. Lsat Dan Participant, you give a lot of good advice! Do you have any other free tips like that one about “fails to consider” and “takes for granted”? I ask, because after I applied that tiny bit of information, I was able to look at questions differently and answer them with more accuracy. It’s even simplistic, but it never occurred to me before. If not, that’s ok. The language is confusing sometimes.
        I’m so jealous that you have completed already. It sounds like you completed early 36-38 yrs old.

• May 2, 2016 at 4:07 pm #1787
      lacroixf
      Participant

I’m in my early 40’s! Took the LSAT in mid 20’s and scored a 149.  Became a CPA instead. Didn’t prepare much; just read the Kaplan book.  The Trainer is an eye opener!

Life experience and knowing the industry I will practice in really helps add purpose to my applications.

I think I can get to the 170’s with Mike Kim’s Trainer.