Reply To: Rules Questions Drill (pg 392 in 2016 LSAT Trainer)

September 8, 2017 at 6:42 pm #3299
Mike Kim
Keymaster

Hi Allie,

Happy to try and help —

The original rule in question, “If F is not played, L will be” gives us three potentially valid consequences:

F out and L in.
L out and F in.
Both F and L in.

And one outcome that can’t work —

Both F and L being out. (Because notice, when we try to put one out, the rule forces the other in.)

Answer choice (C), “Either F or L is played,” gives us three potentially valid consequences:

F in and L out
L in and F out
Both F and L in (remember, “either” doesn’t exclude both.)

And one outcome that can’t work —

Both F and L being out.

Answer choice (D), “Either F or L is not played,” gives us three potentially valid consequences:

F in and L out
L in and F out
Both F and L out

And one outcome that can’t work —

Both F and L being in.

Notice, (C) has the same consequences as the original rule did, but (D) does not. So, (C) is the correct answer.

I hope that clears things up — check out lessons 13 and 18 (and 31, which is coming up) if you want some additional practice with conditional rules, and if you have any follow-up q’s just let me know —

Mike